My NYC DIY and Craft Store Shopping Spree!

Last weekend, my graphic designer Mom and I went to the Garment District to stock up on supplies for DIY projects for myself, and buy embellishments for samples for her work designs.

I’ve got a huge list of projects I want to work on, and ideas floating around in my head. I bought some more supplies for headbands for my Etsy shop, some awesome studs and spikes for a Rodarte-inspired shoe project, and even found some cute nail art so I can give myself a “super kawaii” manicure!

We first hit up M&J Trim, an awesomely huge store and great resource for all things crafty. I saw a lot of products that I’ve seen used in various Etsy items. I can never leave that store with out spending a small fortune, and this time walked out with some tie dyed fringe, studs, spikes, feathered bows, and sequined trim for headbands.

crafts,DIY

Crafts,DIY

crafts,DIY

crafts,DIY Not pictured: The huge SPIKES I got for my shoes!

I also found these zippered roses, which were about 1/4 of the price of the many zippered accessories I’ve been seeing in boutiques and magazines:

craftsDIY,crafts,DIY

M&J is a GREAT resource for DIY wedding supplies. They even have their own Bridal Center, with consultants to help you create your dream wedding projects!

Next we went to Toho Shoji, a Japanese craft store, to pick up beads for my mom. I also found a small section of nail art and accessories, and ended up buying these gorgeous bows to add to my nails!

crafts DIY,nail art,crafts,DIY

Crafts,DIY Pearls for my nails, and some rhinestones for other projects.

After Toho Shoji, we walked down 37th Street, and ended up finding a dozen or so bead and craft stores. Between 5th and 6th Avenues, 37th is FULL of great stores to check out. It’s a great place to wander around if you’re not sure what you’re looking for and just in the mood to be crafty.

Our last stop was Martha Stewart’s favorite store, Tinsel Trading Co.

crafts,DIY,martha stewart

I am in love with this store! They have gorgeous trims, patches, vintage sari fabrics, ribbons, buttons, and anything you could possibly imagine. If you have an unlimited crafting budget, this is where you shop. I picked up a bouquet of vintage velvet flowers, blue rope trim to use as a belt, and some velveteen ribbon.

DIY,Crafts Vintage flowers

I can’t wait to start working on all of my projects!
What are your dream DIY’s that you’d like to create? If you have photos of any projects you’ve done, post them here! I love to see what kinds of things people come up with.

3 thoughts on “My NYC DIY and Craft Store Shopping Spree!

  1. I love the studs and the black zipper rose. I saw a pair of beautiful black suede pumps today, with a pattern of studs at the side near the ankle. I’m thinking about re-creating it by doing some DIY……..

  2. Pingback: DIY Super Kawaii Manicure « The Greyest Ghost

Leave a Reply

