The Pretty Reckless @ Hiro Ballroom

Photobucket
Taylor Momsen and friend

Last night I headed over to Hiro Ballroom to celebrate Taylor Momsen’s 16th Birthday, and catch her band, The Pretty Reckless, perform.

Photobucket

The show started a bit late, so my friends Hillary, Krystle and I sat down to wait. Within 2 minutes, Ed Westwick and Jessica Szohr walked in. The VIP attendant didn’t seem to know who they were, and Ed became visibly flustered. But within a minute or two, everything was rectified and they were let upstairs.

Photobucket

When Taylor came on stage, the crowd went wild. It was hard to even see the band, there were so many people crowding the stage, and so many hands in the air with cameras.

Photobucket

I snapped a few pics before receiving a text from Hillary saying that the VIP area was now open and unguarded and she was “standing next to Chuck Bass”. We proceeded upstairs to meet her, and ended up standing right behind Jessica Szohr, who once again kindly posed for photos. After a few minutes, I felt a gentle push on my handbag and heard a voice say “Sorry Love”. I looked up and saw Ed Westwick squeezing past me! I have to say, his accent is dreamy. I tried to play it cool, and not act star struck since we were in a public place standing three feet apart, and not on set or anything. But it was hard. He stood right in front of us for the majority of the night!

The three of us watched the show, and ended up meeting Michelle Trachtenberg in the process. She seemed a little annoyed to be bothered by fans , but I don’t really blame her. It happens.

We saw Ed and Jessica chatting with friends, and kissing and acting affectionate to each other. Despite what the tabloids might say, the two are definitely still together. I asked Jessica as they were leaving if I could snap a photo of the two of them, but she said no.

Photobucket
Ed with Hillary earlier in the night. He’s so handsome, he broke my camera flash! I think he thought I was mental, trying to fix it. He also asked who I worked for, and why I had such a large camera!

After the show, Taylor appeared and was swarmed by fans! I couldn’t even life my arms to take photos, it was so crowded! Hillary and I managed to get a photo with Taylor on my disposable camera. (I would have dropped it off on my way home, but oh wait, Duane Reade no longer develops FILM./End Rant) I asked her about twitter, and she said she doesn’t have one, and suspects a friend is impersonating her! I also had her sign my copy of Page Six Magazine’s Gossip Girl issue, and talked with her about the shoot. She said it was one of the most fun she’d been on, and remembered hanging in the trailer with her mom and I!
Matthew Settle was also there, and posed for some photos with Taylor. The onscreen father/daughter duo were beyond cute together in real life! We managed to snag a photo with Matthew too, who was seriously soooooooo nice. He gave us hugs, and signed my magazine as well. Twice actually, since the first time I forgot to uncap the sharpie! I told him that he and Taylor were my favorite cast members, and the best to meet in person, which really made him smile. I also spoke with a few of the other members of Pretty Reckless, who said they weren’t sure when their next show would be due to Taylor’s filming schedule. They are definitely worth checking out in the future next time they go on tour!

I think it was great that Taylor decided to celebrate her birthday with her friends and fans. Awesome of some of the other cast members to show up to support her too! (Chase Crawford was supposedly there, hiding. But I sadly missed him!) I’m happy for my friends as well, since they got to meet some of their favorite celebs. So cute seeing them get all excited! Tonight was my first time at Hiro Ballroom (which is gorgeous btw) and definitely a place I will be going back to in the future!

More photos of Taylor and the rest of the cast after the jump!

Photobucket

(Fog machines totally ruin concert photos for me, but I think these turned out kind of cool for being shot at 1000 speed, in a foggy low lit room.)

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Singing Happy Birthday:
Photobucket

Photobucket

Really Yummy Birthday Cupcakes:
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

From the VIP Balcony:
Photobucket

Taylor posing with fans:
Photobucket

Photobucket

Taylor and one of her music related acquaintances:
Photobucket

Photobucket

The magazine Matthew and Taylor signed:
Photobucket
(I produced that photo shoot!)

Photos ® 2009 RS

5 thoughts on “The Pretty Reckless @ Hiro Ballroom

  1. This is SO great. Thank you so much! A friend of mine was there…actually she was probably right behind you because she overheard the Twitter convo. LOL.

    Thanks SO much! I love Taylor and Jenny is my favorite on GG. Please let us know if you work/see her again!🙂

    I wish I would have gotten a copy of that magazine since I don’t live in NYC.😦

    Like

  2. That looks like such a blast! so happy for you guys that you had fun and got to meet and talk to her! So awesome! Please post more pics soon thanks!

    Like

  3. Thanks for the review and all the pictures. Love that some many people showed up for Taylors big 16th. It looked like a lot of fun.
    I adored the Page Six shoot. Really, I think their the most beautiful pictures of Taylor out there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

