Norma Kamali Batwing Cardigan…at Walmart

Everyone I know seems to have strong opinions on Walmart. You either love ’em or hate ’em, there isn’t really any middle ground. “Fashion” isn’t something that usually comes to mind when you think of the store. But Walmart has slowly been sneaking in designer collaborations (I’d be lying if I didn’t admit I was wearing this Miley Cyrus & Max Azria cardigan right now), and with news of brands like Hard Candy coming to the store, things might be looking up.

One such collaboration, Norma Kamali for Walmart, has been going strong for over a year. The line is full of cute, low pried basics, but the standout piece for me has always been the batwing cardigan:

norma kamali

A friend of mine has the original NK design, and I love how comfortable and warm it looks. I’ve been hunting down the much (hundreds of dollars!) cheaper Walmart version for over a year now. It always sold out online right before I’d remember to buy it. I debated buying the other colors, only to have them disappear as well! I looked in store after store, whenever I’d go on vacation, but never found a single NK piece for sale, let alone my beloved batwing. Well, last night, I FINALLY purchased the black batwing cardi— for about $20 with shipping! This weekend’s unseasonably cold weather had me feeling down, but now I can’t wait until it’s cardigan weather again in NYC!

What do you think of the batwing cardigan, and Walmart’s foray into designer collaborations?

One thought on “Norma Kamali Batwing Cardigan…at Walmart

  1. Pingback: Norma Kamali for Walmart Spring 2010 « The Greyest Ghost

Leave a Reply

