Grace Coddington: Catwalk Cats Signing

Grace Coddington 5

Last night after hitting up the Studio Beauty Mix party at Korres (more on that later!) I stopped by Clic Gallery in Little Italy for the Grace Coddington book signing. She was at the gallery to autograph copies of her book Catwalk Cats, and meet her fans. For those somehow still unfamiliar with Grace, she is the Creative Director and a Senior Stylist at VOGUE. She is considered one of the (If not THE) most influential and well respected stylists in the business.

Grace Coddington: Mirror Image
Grace meets the Grace T-Shirt.

When we arrived shortly after 7pm only about ten people were there, along with Grace who was standing at a desk surrounded by her books! (When I’d called to preorder my book, I’d been warned to arrive early that they were expecting a large turn out. It did get very crowded–everyone arrived late!) My friend Jenn and I got in line, and waited patiently for our turn to meet Grace. Grace is a pretty amazing site in person. Her massive red hair billows around her face like some kind of Arthurian princess.

Grace Coddington 2

Once it was our turn to meet Grace, I handed her my book to be signed. Then asked if Jenn and I could pose for photos with her.

Rachel & Grace
Me & Grace.

Jenn & Grace
Two Redheads! Jenn & Grace.

Other than “thank you”, telling her my name, and smiling a lot I don’t think I said a word to her. Over the last ten or so years I’ve met dozens of celebrities: actors and actresses, writers, musicians. But never someone so influential in my field of work. And I had no clue what to say to her. I wanted to tell her how much she made me laugh in “The September Issue”, how amazing I think all of her editorials are, and how her humor and personality reminds me of my late Grandmother. But I choked!

Grace Coddington Smiles

I snapped a few more photos before I left, and Grace gave me a look like “you sure take a lot of photos for someone who’s afraid to talk”. I just smiled at her and went on my way.

Grace Coddington 7

Catwalk Cats 3
My copy of Catwalk Cats! One of the first signed books I’ve added to my collection, post-house fire.

See the rest of the photos here.

Leave a Reply

