NY Mag Topshop Holiday Style Event

Last night, Topshop closed to the public for the NY Mag sponsored Holiday Style Event. Everything in the store was 20% off!

Guests shopped and sipped prosecco while members of Au Revoir Simone DJ’d. This was the first non-stressful shopping experience I’ve ever had at Topshop. Normally the crowds of shoppers and tourists keep me away. But this time my experience was nothing but pleasant. I could move around the store freely, and not fight other shoppers for dresses in my size. And the gorgeous new holiday collection was all the more alluring priced at 20% off.


Get ready for holiday party season!

The holiday collection is full of lacy and sparkly and items. I saw quite a few sequined pieces straight out of my Grandmother’s closet, circa 1985. Many looked suspiciously similar to items I picked up on my last trip to a midwestern thrift store. Most of the collection was beautiful, but there were a few ridiculous items too, like lace crop tops and saggy-crotched sequin harem pants.

And then there was this:

What the hell?

I grabbed an armful of clothing and headed to the first floor dressing room, where the line was much smaller. Unfortunately, it was still about 100degrees. The bright topshop lighting that makes all the clothing look so pretty and your skin look amazing almost caused me to melt.

Case in point:

Me, in the lacy lavender holiday dress I ended up buying. Sweating my ass off.

The Christopher Kane NEON yellow dress I wish wasn’t so small in the chest. And not $200+

Photos do not do this yellow justice.

I found a few dresses I’d been drooling over earlier this summer marked down to $30. Unfortunately they didn’t work out, but they still looked pretty cute:


Vivenne Westwood-esque floral dress.


Red ballerina-ish dress.

Holiday Dress I almost bought:

Sadly, I could only get one.

But I had a lot of fun trying everything on:

Especially this:

I felt like a circus pony. I couldn’t even make a straight face.

This girl also liked the tiara/head dress:

Her friend insisted we take a photo together wearing it. : )


The tiara, and an insane feather necklace.


More shoppers. Look how un-crowded it was!

The event was soooo much fun. My only complaint: I literally had to stalk the waiters with champagne for twenty minutes, through all three floors of the store before I could grab a glass. It appeared as if one server was manning the entire store–at least until I finally got my glass, and then had to decline the second server who appeared less than five minutes later.

I ended up going home with a new party dress, that ridiculous head dress (which I bought for the themed New Year’s party I plan on throwing, but might return because it’s so silly. Even though it somehow rang up 25% off!), and a pair of silver sequined fingerless gloves. Clearly I’m either secretly an eccentric 85 year old grandma, or a drag queen at heart.

4 thoughts on “NY Mag Topshop Holiday Style Event

  1. Pingback: Topshop Jubilee « The Greyest Ghost

  2. Pingback: NYLON’s 11th Anniversary Topshop Event « The Greyest Ghost

Leave a Reply

