Adventures in Park Slope

I woke up early Sunday morning to meet a couple of friends for brunch at Bogota, in Park Slope. It was my first time eating there, and from my first bite of our appetizer, I knew I’d end up going back soon. Bogota serves Latin/Columbian food, and it’s all so good! I split some delicious chips and guacamole with my friends, then had plantain stuffed french toast. I’m going to try to replicate the recipe at home one day, I enjoyed it so much!

After brunch we walked over to the Brooklyn Lyceum for the spring food and craft market.

Brooklyn Lyceum Craft Market

The market was rather small and cramped, and other than some jewelry, not much of the crafty stuff really caught my eye. Maybe I was just worn down from the heat, but I wasn’t really feeling it. Or the bad economy has just made me much pickier about crafts. Once we went upstairs however, things perked up. About a dozen diverse and extremely interesting food vendors were set up on one half of the floor. We saw everything from bacon marmalade, to home made sodas, to a wide selection of polish food and desserts. But the best thing of all was Robicelli’s cupcakes.

Robicelli's Cupcakes

I had a sample of the car bomb (so good!) and bought a chocolate caramel pretzel. It was the perfect combination of salty and sweet. And the icing was perfect. I want another one asap!

After the craft market, we went to the Brooklyn Flea. On the way there, we stopped in Guvnor’s vintage:
Guvnor's Vintage

They had some beautiful vintage dresses, and a surprisingly vast selection of retro bathing suits. Most were priced around $25. I think brand new swimsuits at old navy cost more than that!

Before we arrived, we also passed this little guy:
White Pooch
Check out that stare!

The way he was sitting made him look a lot like a baby seal.

Brooklyn Flea,The Greyest Ghost
Brooklyn Flea at One Hanson Place.

I didn’t really find anything I just had to have at the flea. I was going to buy a rhinestone Dalmatian brooch (I had one as a pet for 13 years and collect Dalmatian stuff), but it was overpriced for it’s size.

One of the other interesting finds from the flea:
How to Raise and Train a Poodle
Haha!

I’m going to be sure that next time I go to the Saturday, outdoor flea location. I hear it’s much bigger and better.

Brooklyn Flea,The Greyest Ghost

I’ve lived in Brooklyn four years now, and this was my first time visiting Park Slope. It was pretty nice having everything in one neighborhood and just being able to walk from place to place with out having to get on the train. Not something I’m used to in my neighborhood. I’m sure I’ll be back soon, probably for another lunch at Bogota.

3 thoughts on “Adventures in Park Slope

Leave a Reply

