Band of Horses and Karen Elson at Williamsburg Waterfront

IMG_4144

Sunday night, I braved the intense summer heat and headed down to the Williamsburg waterfront to see Karen Elson, Grizzly Bear, and Band of Horses.

I arrived a bit late, coming back to the city after a weekend in Connecticut. But luckily, Karen Elson was still on stage. Looking and sounding gorgeous as always, Karen and her band members dressed in coordinated in peach and black outfits. I can’t get enough of Karen’s debut CD! She seemed to win over quite a few new fans in Sunday night’s audience as well.

IMG_4131

IMG_4222

I didn’t photograph Grizzly Bear’s set. Maybe it’s because I was far back from the stage in the “drinking area” with my friends who wanted beer… but Grizzly Bear didn’t capture my attention as much as I’d expected. Live, they sounded almost exactly like they do on CD. Their set seemed more like an intermission between the sultry and folksy Karen, and more animated stage performance of BOH.

IMG_4609

Band of Horses went on stage right as the sun started setting. The heat, the sunset, and cool breeze coming off the east river aligned to create the perfect conditions for of the start of the summer concert season.

IMG_4495

Band of Horses blew me away. I love them even more after seeing them live! They’re one of those rare live acts that despite having quite a few members, have a sound that flows together with each musicians contributions meshing together perfectly.

IMG_4575

They also came across as genuinely fun guys, who loved performing and interacting with their fans, rather than just being on stage and doing their jobs. The highlight of the night had to be an overeager fan–Andrew, who repeatedly screamed and yelled trying to get the band’s attention, and eventually tried to jump on stage. Rather than freaking out, lead singer Ben Bridwell serenaded Andrew, and worked his name into multiple songs. I really hope some enterprising fan got the whole thing on video. It was truly hilarious.

IMG_4467

The show was the perfect kick off event for a summer season of concerts at the Williamsburg waterfront. Quite a few great concerts are scheduled here. And look for the lineup of Jelly NYC‘s “Pool Party” free shows at the waterfront to be announced soon!

Read a great, more in depth review of the show here.

See the full photo set here.

®2010 RS/The Greyest Ghost

6 thoughts on “Band of Horses and Karen Elson at Williamsburg Waterfront

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Band of Horses and Karen Elson at Williamsburg Waterfront « The Greyest Ghost -- Topsy.com

  2. I am that overeager fan named Andrew. It was a wonderful treat for Ben to have handled the situation like he did, and I was more than happy just to even be at the show.

    I didn’t, however, try to jump on the stage, I was pushed over the metal gate by two people that I was there with. I have great photos from the whole night, and I was even lucky enough to have met Creighton and Bill after the show. They are truly class acts, and if I am going to be an over-eager fan, I’m glad it’s of them.

    Andrew

    Like

  3. Karen looks so glorious in every shot I’ve ever seen her in. I want everything she wears in hopes that it will give me that glow she always seems to give off.

    Like

    • So true! And she’s quickly becoming one of my favorite models, because she’s so unique looking. I think we both need to get to her vintage boutique in Nashville someday. Maybe that will help capture the glow! : )

      Like

Leave a Reply

