The Jazz Age Lawn Party

IMG_8955

Yesterday I met up with some friends at Governor’s Island’s 5th Bi-annual Jazz Age Lawn Party. Hands down one of the coolest events I’ve been to in the nearly four years I’ve lived in NYC! Everyone there was dressed to the nines, in gorgeous period appropriate clothing. The band, Michael Arenella and His Dreamland Orchestra, was great, and there were refreshments and activities like tug of war and dancing to keep guests of all ages entertained.

IMG_8740

The event was so amazing, it made me regret not going sooner! I first heard about the party a year or so ago. It’s always a big hit with The Sartorialist, so I can’t believe it took me so long to see it for myself. Everyone looked so good, I had a tiny bout of stage fright asking people to take their photo. But not surprisingly, I averaged about a hundred photos an hour once I started talking to people.

IMG_8793

IMG_8773

IMG_8737
One of my favorite looks of the day.

IMG_8843
Some photographers broke out the big guns.

IMG_8763
My friend Kim.

IMG_8767
Relaxing in the shade after a delicious drink.

IMG_8759
Bill Cunningham was there too!

IMG_8865
I spotted Bill quite a few times throughout the afternoon. Here he is interacting with a woman setting up a croquet game.

IMG_8796

IMG_8819
The band.

IMG_8806
Bathing Beauties.

IMG_8817

IMG_8828

IMG_8837

IMG_8839

IMG_8847

IMG_8860
The crowd! Or really about 1/3 of it.

IMG_8869

I really want a parasol now!

IMG_8878
Some menswear looks were represented as well!

IMG_8888
Also: men in menswear! Hahah.

IMG_8907
Dancing!

IMG_8925

IMG_8917

IMG_8938
I had to hunt her down to get this photo!

IMG_8945
So cute!

IMG_8965

My advice: If you go next year, bring a picnic basket and a blanket. I ran out the door so fast Sunday morning, I didn’t have anything with me but a bottle of water. That ended up costing me quite a bit of money once I was on the island.

See the full photo set here.


®2010 RS/The Greyest Ghost

17 thoughts on “The Jazz Age Lawn Party

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Jazz Age Lawn Party | The Greyest Ghost -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Puttin’ on the Ritz: Jazz Age Lawn Party « Thrifty.Vintage.Chic.

  3. Pingback: Puttin’ on the Ritz: Jazz Age Lawn Party | Thrifty Vintage Chic

  4. Pingback: The 2011 Jazz Age Lawn Party « The Greyest Ghost

Leave a Reply

