Fashion’s Night Out: Gwen Stefani at Sephora Soho

Gwen at Sephora 50

It might have been over two weeks ago, but I’m still giddy about my Fashion’s Night Out experience at Sephora Soho. I never would have guessed I’d be spending the second FNO doing virtually the same thing I did on the first! Once I heard Gwen Stefani would be at Sephora signing her five new Harajuku Lovers perfumes, all previous plans were canceled.

When I arrived at Sephora to purchase my perfume that morning at 9:40am, I estimated that I was already about 60th in line. Luckily, my guess was correct, and I was able to purchase two of the Harajuku Lovers perfumes and get a wristband for the signing.

The store had already been decked out for the occasion:
Gwen at Sephora 3

Gwen at Sephora 5

I returned to Sephora about an hour before Gwen was due to arrive. Thankfully, I’d also been confirmed for press access for the blog, so I was able to set up in the photographer’s area while we all waited for Gwen. The line for the signing already stretched to the back of the store, and what seemed like a few hundred onlookers crowded around Sephora’s windows waiting to catch a glimpse of Gwen. It was nearly impossible for late arrivals to get inside! I heard a few anxious discussions about fans outside possible breaking the glass. It freaked out quite a few of us inside the store.

Gwen at Sephora 17
Onlookers practically smashed against the front doors.

While we waited, I captured some more of the atmosphere:
Gwen at Sephora 8

Gwen at Sephora 10

Gwen at Sephora 11
The perfumes! They all smelled so good.

Gwen at Sephora 12
The signing area.

Gwen at Sephora 16

Two of the Harajuku Girls came out for a photo op:
Gwen at Sephora 14

All of the sudden, the crowd began to cheer, and Gwen soon appeared:
Gwen at Sephora 18
Looking gorgeous, as usual. In Spring 2011 L.A.M.B.

More detail of the dress:
Gwen at Sephora 23

Gwen at Sephora 28

Gwen at Sephora 25

Gwen gave a few quick tv interviews about the perfumes:
Gwen at Sephora 32

Gwen discussing the new fragrances:

A close up of her amazing hair style:
Gwen at Sephora 34

The crowd outside had been going nuts the entire time, so Gwen decided to pay them a visit:
Gwen at Sephora 38
They nearly started a riot after Gwen appeared in the windows. I hear people were jumping on top of cars, and the entire block of Broadway in front of Sephora was impassable.

Gwen at Sephora 41
Grabbing the perfumes for another photo op.

Gwen at Sephora 52

About to start the signing:
Gwen at Sephora 57

My friend Veronica had been holding my spot in line while I finished my press coverage. Once the signing started, I hopped over, and we waited to meet Gwen.

Gwen at Sephora 58
Gwen signing for the woman in front of me.

Even though I met Gwen last year, I was nervous. She’s pretty much the only celebrity I actually consider a role model and an inspiration. Thankfully, she’s also hands down one of the nicest people I’ve ever met. She just radiates kindness. While she was signing my perfume, we had a chance to quickly talk about me meeting her at the last FNO (Gwen said I looked familiar!), and I gave Gwen one of my moo business cards with her photo from a 2002 No Doubt show. She said she’d check out the photos, because she loves to see what fans shoot. She also signed a 5×7 copy of the same photo for me after I told her it’s one of my favorite photos I’ve ever shot.

Gwen Stefani 1
The photo in question.

We talked so much, eventually a security guard told me it was time to go! I feel very lucky that I had a chance to chat with Gwen again, and get my new “G” Harajuku Lovers perfume signed! The little felt-head bottles are absolutely adorable. I went home with G and Love (which smells a lot like grapes!). I can’t wait until the rest of the collection hits Sephora stores in November. I think I might have to buy them all!

See the full photo set here.

Thanks so much to Gwen, Sephora, and Coty for hosting this amazing event!

Gwen at Sephora 59
After the signing.

®2010 Rachel Scroggins/The Greyest Ghost

4 thoughts on “Fashion’s Night Out: Gwen Stefani at Sephora Soho

  1. Pingback: Harajuku Lovers Wicked Style Fragrances: Now at Sephora! | The Greyest Ghost

  2. Pingback: Fashion’s Night Out With Oscar de la Renta « The Greyest Ghost

Leave a Reply

