Post Fashion Week Depression

Sneak Peak: Temperley
The “runway” at Temperley London.

Things here have been a bit slow the past few weeks. As anyone who is a regular reader can tell, I’ve been posting about 1/10th as much as usual. I’m not going anywhere, and I’m not sick of blogging yet. I think I just came down with what I’ll call PFWD: Post Fashion Week Depression.

After months and months of buildup and planning, and a week and a half of going non-stop, I needed a break. Last season, I stayed up all night posting about the shows I’d just attended, and paid for it severely. This season, I took two weeks off, posting a few show reviews sporadically. I edited a few more shows for flickr, while dreading going through the 10,000+ photographs I still needed to view. Mostly, I wanted nothing to do with fashion. I wasn’t tired of it by any means, but I needed to think about other “real life” things. Which I did. And when I felt like I could breathe again, and didn’t feel weird anymore for not carrying my camera around “just in case” I spotted someone that I needed to photograph, I got sad. What was I supposed to do now? It’s a weird thing to feel ashamed that you’re not busy. While some of my peers were off shooting in Paris and Milan, I was cringing just thinking about shooting a full month of shows. Maybe one day, but for now, I’ll enjoy my post-nyfw recovery time.

Now here I am, nearly three weeks later finally getting back into the swing of things. In the last week and a half, I’ve taken on a new shooting project, saw my first editorial published, and started planning the future of this blog. I’ve learned what I can and can’t do, and remembered that it’s quality, not the quantity of posts that keeps readers coming back. Maybe some bloggers can be the second coming of style.com, and post show reviews two hours after the fact. But for someone who cares as much about detail, and posting great photos and content as I do, that’s never going to happen. For now, I’m happy to march forward slowly but surely, because I know that what I have to share is worth the wait.

2 thoughts on “Post Fashion Week Depression

  1. I so agree with everything you have said in this post. I find when I come back from the city with my shots (not near as much as 10,000) I go crazy trying to go thru everything and try to organize what to blog. I also feel I want to write up something great to go with the photos and that takes time. Quality is the spice of life, as they say!! Looking forward to your next post, plus if we wait a bit longer, the excitement builds! Have a great weekend!!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Post Fashion Week Depression | The Greyest Ghost -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

