Oscar de la Renta S/S 2013

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Runway-90

Every day, I feel privileged to be able to do what I love for a living, but some days are just more magical than others. Whenever it’s time for an Oscar de la Renta show (which now happens around five times a year, for me!), I revert back to feeling like a little girl, surrounded by beautiful gowns and accessories. It has to be one of the closest things to feeling like a real live princess a New Yorker can experience!

I find I’m always more partial, in general, to spring and summer collections. Maybe it’s the brighter colors, or breezier fabrics. But this spring, Oscar totally blew me away. The impeccable styling, color choices, unexpected use of latex fabric, and even the rainbow hair was so fresh and inspiring in a world where so many designers seem to have lost their way.

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-2

I “live-pinned” the show for the brand over on the official OscarPRGirl Pinterest page. So my evening began a few hours pre-show, backstage:

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-4
One of the first people I ran into, Karlie Kloss

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-5
I will never, ever get tired of pink…

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-7
or floaty fabrics

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-6

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-13

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-15

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-16
The perfect rosy lip color, by Revlon

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-46
One of my favorite things about the SS13 show was the streaks of colorful hair extensions, peeking out from the models’ up-do’s

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-20
I lost track of the number of people who told me my hair matched the models’

At one point while navigating my way through the crowded backstage, I turned around and found myself unexpectedly blocking Oscar’s path. As I was about to excuse myself, he reached up, pet my dyed blue bangs, and said “I need your hair for the show!”.

Matching hair at Oscar de la Renta
Of course I had to document the matching hair. But I now see how tired I looked by day six of nyfw

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-37

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-18

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-23
A quiet moment before the show

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-32

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-27

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-25

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-29
I snuck back to the atelier to say hello, and bumped into Raffaele, the atelier director.

Back in beauty, more hair extensions were being applied:
Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-34

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-64

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-66

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-56
Hair genius Orlando Pita at work

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-61

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-70
Another fun discovery at the SS13 show–more new OdlR nail lacquers!

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-62

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-69

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-73

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-71

The finished look:
Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-75

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-85

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-84
Checking on the runway

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-81
Details of my **favorite** piece in the collection

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-97

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-79

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-76
Spotted while I ran out to do one last pinterest upload: ALT

Right before the show began, Rachel Zoe arrived. And seemed to impress Oscar with her necklace:
Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-88

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-94

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-95

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-90

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-89

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-92

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Backstage-96

Some of my favorite looks from the runway:

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Runway-1

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Runway-14
Something was a bit “off” with the show’s lighting this season. So for the first time in ages, I’ve played around with the color and vignetting in my runway photos. Which I try to avoid, preferring to preserve the integrity and true colors of the clothing.

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Runway-27

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Runway-29

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Runway-30

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Runway-31
❤❤❤

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Runway-34

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Runway-35

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Runway-37

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Runway-39

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Runway-47

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Runway-52

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Runway-53

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Runway-60

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Runway-61

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Runway-62

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Runway-66

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Runway-69

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Runway-70

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Runway-72

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Runway-75

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Runway-77

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Runway-79
Karlie closing the show

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Runway-80

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Runway-82

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Runway-87

Oscar de la Renta SS13 Runway-88

IMG_8008bw
Once again, in black and white!

See the full photo set here

All Photos and Content ®2012 Rachel Scroggins/The Greyest Ghost

One thought on “Oscar de la Renta S/S 2013

Leave a Reply

