A Visit To Sleepy Hollow

Horseman's Hollow

Yesterday, I took a break from all my edits and event photography work to head north of the city for a visit to the town of Sleepy Hollow. Made famous by the Washington Irving tale of The Headless Horseman, the town joyfully capitalizes on the story’s mythology, and celebrates the spirit of Halloween.

Sleepy Hollow

I’ve been wanting to go to Sleepy Hollow, which was just a 40 minute train ride north of the city, for YEARS. I love ghosts, Halloween, and “spooky” things, so I was incredibly excited to finally have time to make the trip.

One of the fun “attractions” I was able to stop by was Sleepy Hollow Cemetery. Night time lantern tours are offered, and there is even a two-evening night-time photography workshop (that I’m very sad I can’t attend!) in the month of October.

Sleepy Hollow Cemetery

While I was waiting to meet up with some friends, I got to take a short walk around the cemetery and get a peek of some of the more interesting old gravestones.

Sleepy Hollow Cemetery
The entrance to the cemetery is framed by the famous Old Dutch Church



Sleepy Hollow Cemetery

Sleepy Hollow Cemetery

It’s always creepy seeing your own name on a gravestone:
Sleepy Hollow Cemetery

At one point, one of the caretakers approached me and told me a bit about the history of the cemetery, and some interesting facts about what the symbols on the headstones mean.

Sleepy Hollow Cemetery
The angel faces represent the departed’s soul

Sleepy Hollow Cemetery
I love the typography used in the 18th century.

Right down the hill from the cemetery is the creek, and former site of the bridge The Headless Horseman chased Ichabod Crane across.

Headless Horseman Bridge

The Headless Horseman Bridge
I couldn’t resist posing with the sign!

Once it was dark, I met up with two of my friends over at Horseman’s Hollow, a haunted attraction. I also ran into someone I wasn’t expecting quite yet:

Horseman's Hollow

Horseman's Hollow

I took the worst on camera flash photo from 20 feet away, ever, of The Horseman scaring a child:
Horseman's Hollow

Horseman's Hollow
Michelle and Anthony being “scary”.

Horseman's Hollow
Horseman’s Hollow

Horseman's Hollow
The beginning of the experience

Horseman's Hollow

Horseman's Hollow

Horseman's Hollow

Horseman's Hollow
Yea, that was gross

Horseman's Hollow
The actors, costumes, and makeup were all outstanding. Quite a few of them chased us, while the other, slower characters zombie-shuffled in circles around us.

Horseman's Hollow
So very ‘The Walking Dead’

Horseman's Hollow
This guy will give you nightmares

Overall, I had a pretty excellent time in Sleepy Hollow! Horseman’s Hollow was a little shorter than expected, at about 40 minutes total. But there were a few times I genuinely screamed. And the attention to detail within the total experience (props, costumes, makeup, etc), and the actual acting ability of the performers was better than any other haunted house I’ve been to.

I’m hoping to go back to Sleepy Hollow later this month for The Great Jack O’Lantern Blaze, a huge pumpkin display that also happens in town. It’s so popular, it’s almost completely sold out!

See the full photo set here.

One thought on “A Visit To Sleepy Hollow

Leave a Reply

