Adventures In DIY Studio Photography

Yea… so I’ve been MIA for a ridiculously long time. As usual, the universe has conspired to make my busiest periods, work wise, coincide with the craziest times in my life. I always take a bit of time off after Fashion Week. This season was no different– I spent two weeks in my hometown. As soon as I got back to NYC, I (this is embarrassing to even admit) damaged by nearly brand new macbook pro, rendering it nearly useless, and putting me out of commission for quite a long time. I’ve managed to get my old black macbook up and running again, so expect the last half of my NYFW posts, and some event coverage soon. And once it’s set up, a how-to post on building your own DIY at-home photo studio.

Until then, here is a teaser from my very first home studio shoot, which took place this past weekend. My friend, and long-time collaborator Casey Kettleson is working on a fun new personal project– more on that soon– and needed a photographer. Which ended up being the perfect occasion to test out my new lighting equipment. She rented a backdrop kit, and I trekked uptown to her apartment, for two days of fashion photography, and fun. While we were working on her project, we managed to get some fun new head shots to be used as promotional photos. Below, one of my favorites.

Casey Kettleson Head Shot

All Photos and Content ®2013 Rachel Scroggins/The Greyest Ghost

Leave a Reply

